playgroupolitics


Rediscovered Kid Foods Hot dogs and chicken nuggets
July 29, 2008, 9:11 pm
Filed under: fat, mommyblog

When was the last time you had fish sticks?  I bet the answer is based on whether you have kids or not.  Pre-kid I would never have bought/ordered fish sticks, who knows what they’re actually made of!  Deep fried!  Pedestrian!  But now fishsticks, chicken nuggets, macaroni and cheese and hot dogs are regulars on the menu and sometimes I’m just too darned tired to make something different for the adults.  

And the realization then dawned… I wasn’t crazy about hot dogs before, but that was probably because I was getting the low fat or no fat turken/chicken variety.  My kids get the full up Porky pig ones and, although I hate to admit it, they taste darn good, pigs lips and all.  (I’m not totally throwing health to the wind, at least they’re nitrite free version).  Same thing with chicken nuggets.  And whole milk.  And regular syrup.  And restaurant macaroni and cheese (Claim Jumper, oh yes!).

For a while I thought “wow, I can switch to the full fat version of all this stuff and it makes no difference!  Except that it tastes a lot better”  well it took a while, but about 2 years and 5 pounds later, I have to admit it probably does make a difference after all.  I don’t know if I can go back though.  🙂

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

